The Power of Words


Reunion is harder when you’re only 14…
July 17, 2010, 8:37 pm
Filed under: Adoption, Life, Ramblings | Tags: , , ,

And when your nmom is bipolar…

And when it was brought upon you by force…

And when your nmom is ODing on Kool-Aid.

Reunion is great as long as both parties are ready for it.  In my case, neither were.  Yet, you can’t change what’s going on.  What happened, happened.  What is happening, is happening.

Sometimes I wish I could just open her eyes to make her see what I see, but I don’t know how.  I want a pair of anti fog glasses.  It took me 3 years to figure this all out, she’s had 14. 

She’s proud of me, and she’s trying now.  But… it’s still hard.  It will always be.  But, I guess that’s why they call it a roller coaster.

Sorry for the suckish blog post.  (and the lack of blog posts…)  I’ve had a lot going on.  I’m leaving for boarding school next month, and finished with a 3.7 unweighted GPA for freshman year.  (woot!) 

I’ll try to make time for blogging even though I’m working 5/7 days a week and have a mega hectic schedule.

Peace to all.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I’m so sorry that your reunion is rocky. You said so much in your statement “Reunion is great as long as both parties are ready for it.” Reunion opens up so much ~ emotions & feelings that you never knew you even had. I’m a(first/natural) mom, my son was almost 30 when we reunited, and I was not ready for the deep emotions that would follow. You could probably say I was Od’ing on koolaid.

I hope your mom is able to work through her “koolaid” garbage so that you two are able to have a relationship. You are SO young to be going through this, I hope you have someone to talk to about it all.

Yay that you got into your boarding school, and a BIG CONGRATS on your GPA ~ way to go! I think you will go far in this world ~ you are an excellent writer, and you have persevered through so much in your young life. I see great things in your future!

Susie

Comment by Susie




Leave a Reply

